210 days and counting

We just got approved as potential adoptive parents this past December.  Now, close to the end of July this is getting too hard.  I enjoyed spending time with my husband, my parents, my sisters and I am ready to receive the news that a little one might be our potential match.

Sometimes I wonder, what did we put in that questionnaire to not be a match to anyone?  It must be that the waiting process is hard.  I have to understand that the child that will be the right match for us and that we can help will come at the right time.

This summer we participated in an event organized by our county to meet children that are awaiting adoption.  At the event there were more than 200 adoptive families and only  25 adoptive children groups.  The issue for us is that we are looking for one child and not a group of children.  The event for the most part was very well-organized and fun.  The drive back home turned out to be sad, not seeing our selves as capable of taking care of more than one child limited our options.  A long drive around town (in the passenger seat) helped to clear my mind.  I guess this is all just part of the process and we have to keep a positive attitude and hang in there.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

