Adoption – Baby steps!

The weekend before Thanksgiving we spent sometime at a bookstore in Seaport Village “Upstart Crow Bookstore“, while having a delicious cup of Pumpkin Spice coffee I wondered around the aisles looking for an interesting read.  I found a wonderful book, that seem perfect for me, my husband and for our moment in time.  The book title is “Mamalita: An Adoption Memoir“, at first glance it got my attention because of the exotic blue cover with a picture of a latino girl in the center.  I took the book to one the reading areas and started reading.  I immediately got into the story and started reading fragments out loud to my husband.  The book caught my attention and I decided to purchase it, I kept reading for rest of the weekend until the end.  It changed my point of view about adoption.  Until the moment before I started reading the book I felt that parents looking to adopt where victims of a complicated system.  I felt that the system had become a business and that you had to be very careful of people who will try to take advantage of you.  I felt like when I was planning our wedding and all those vendors tried to take advantage of us, and we had to haggle.  Somehow this felt worst, we were talking about a child (life).  I felt that as potential adoptive parents we were doing a great thing and that people working in adoption should take that into consideration.  While some of the things I mention before I still feel are truth, my eye opener was the other side of the story, the mothers that give up their children to adoption.  This part of the story in the book no longer made me feel as a victim.  My feelings started shifting from unfortunate to blessed.  Now I feel grateful to have the opportunity to help someone, to impact a child’s life in a positive way.  My husband and I are thinking about having an open adoption.  After I finish reading Mamalita we went to the book reading on December 4th at the Santee Public Library.  That same day we started our adoption process with San Diego county, we went to the offices to fill out paperwork, gave our references and got our fingerprints done.  Within a week we got a letter in the mail from the county advising us to make an appointment as soon as possible.  Next Friday is our first home visit, we are really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

