Ancestry

About one month or so ago I was watching a show on TV “Who do you think you are?” (actually I taped the entire season because the show aired on Fridays which is Movie night) about celebrities finding their ancestors, after watching the Rashida Jones and Paula Deen episode I got the bug. Yes, I did a search using ancestry.com….oh my! the first results where surprising so I got an account. I have worked on my Dad’s side of the family. I have been able to go back to 1800 for sure, and I might have a link all the way back too 1700 but I have not confirmed that the link is correct.

As I started doing this research I found information of my grandpa crossing the border in the 1920′s and the best thing was that they had pictures. So I was able to see pictures of my grandpa when he was in 17, 19, 20, and older. Then I looked into my grandma and found a picture of her when she was 17 (she looked so gorgeous) and also a couple of her when she was 9, she looked so cute as a little girl. Through reviewing marriage licences, birth certificates and baptism documents I was able to go back to at least 4 generations. Through this process I learned that my grandmother lived in the US in the 1920′s and worked as a seamstress, and that she went to high school in the US. Now things are coming into place, this is why my Grandma was such a great dressmaker and why she was bilingual, she spoke perfect english but I just never wondered why or how?

Now my Dad’s birthday is coming up and with Ancestry.com you can also create your own family album, of course for $$, so I am planning to do as much research as I can to have it done for his birthday. I also have to mention that I have used “FamilySearch.org” a free website that has tons of information, it takes some time to find it but is great. I love that someone created this site.

While doing all of these searches and creating this gift for my Dad I could not help but think that this is exactly what I should when a child is places with us for adoption. At least I will try to capture as much information as possible to be able to perform a search in the future or document an album that could be shared with the child when the time is right. I think this is even a good idea for all parents to leave a bit of history about their family ancestors to their children. The best part are the tools that are available today, they are at your fingertips.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Ancestry, Family, Foster care, Foster to Adopt, Life, Parenting, Parents and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ancestry

  1. Nena lopez says:

    Ya quiero ver el regalo

  2. beatriz lopez says:

    me encanta, creo que debo empezar a investigar la parte de la familia de david, y asi dejar un legado a mis hijos y los hijos de sus hijos

Leave a Reply

